How Much Does a Noise Violation Ticket Cost?
A noise violation ticket is given to those who go against the noise level laws in a certain area. Noise ordinances were created so that citizens can reside in their communities contentedly, without disturbance. However, there are instances when the law is abused and a noise violation ticket is issued. There are many contributing factors as to why a person is given a noise ticket. While the cost of a ticket may vary from one case to another, there is a base amount to which many places, including domestic, academic and business establishments, adhere.
How much does it cost?
- Depending on the number of offenses, the costs can be anywhere from $50 to $250. Offenses after the first one can be upwards of $500 to $1,000, depending on the number of offenses and geographical location.
- According to GreeleyGove.com, the penalty for violators in Greely City, Colorado, costs up to $1,000. The fine may be reduced to $250 if the violator attends Neighborhood Conduct class and renders 15 hours of approved community service. Repeat offenders will be fined $1,750 regardless of class or community service.
- At the Village of Misenheimer, North Carolina, violators of the noise ordinance will be fined no more than $500, whereas individuals who break the said law in relation to operating or parking a vehicle will be charged no more than $50.
- In the City of East Lansing, noise violation fines cost $250 – $500.
What is going to be included?
- Depending on the location where the violation occurred, the punishment for noise violation may include imprisonment. Punishment in some areas includes an incarceration period of 90 days in addition to the fines, particularly for violators who commit second offense. Other cities penalize offenders with fines and jail time of up to 6 months.
- In other cities, violators are required to perform hours of community service in addition to paying fines.
What are the extra costs?
- Other states require violators to pay for neighborhood conduct classes, which can cost up to $750.
Factors that influence the price:
- Type of noise violation. A noise violation can be one of a few different types. These include loud and raucous noise, construction noise, sound-producing and music-reproducing equipment, amplified sound, and vehicle engine, horn and vehicle noise. In Minneapolis, for example, amplified sound from vehicles can result to a fine of up to $500 for the first offense, $700 for the second violation, and a maximum amount for the third offense. In Colorado State University, a noise violation ticket issued due to loud parties can cost as much as $1,000 per resident living in the house.
- Time of day. Noise violations that occur between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. are likely to cause a considerable amount of annoyance and discomfort to other people in the vicinity. Such offenses usually call for maximum fines and/or punishment.
- Audibility from the property line. When authorities receive noise violation reports, they typically dispatch a police officer to the neighborhood. The officer will stand at the edge of the property being complained and determine if the noise being made deserves a ticket.
- Number of offenses. In some cities, first time offenders will usually be fined with the minimum amount. In some areas, the minimum fine is $250 for the first offense, $350 for the second and $500, which is the maximum amount, for the third offense. In other cities, the maximum penalties can go up to $1,000.
Tips to know:
- If it is your first time receiving a noise violation ticket, you may want to be polite when speaking with the police because they may reduce the fines if you are respectful. But make sure not to get reported again as the authorities will add the amount they did not charge you for the first offense. So, if your ticket was dropped to $300 from $1,000 and you commit a second violation, the police will fine you the full $1,000 plus the $700 they did not charge you for your first offense.
- Police do not usually use decibel meters to assess potential violations. In some cities, the authorities have no set decibel limit and treat each case subjectively.
- If you receive a noise violation ticket, you will be given a date and time to appear in court for an arraignment, during which possible plea dispositions will be discussed.
- One way to avoid getting a noise violation ticket is to let neighbors know of any event or situation that may cause disturbance. Another option is to get a noise permit, which can be obtained at the police station. However, neighbor complaints can lead to cancellation of the permit and issuance of noise tickets.
How can I save money?
- Noise violation tickets are normally issued to people who disturb the peace and quiet of a neighborhood. In the event that a noise ticket is inevitable, you should remember to speak courteously to the police officer dispatched to investigate the noise coming from your property. Police are known to lower the ticket cost if you speak with them respectfully.
- In states that require community service for noise ordinance violators, it is advisable that offenders perform the obligatory community service for the specified number of hours to avoid paying the maximum fine.
|Help us! Did you get a quote before? Did you make the purchase? Help our community by sharing!|