How Much Does an Expired Tag Ticket Cost?
An expired tag ticket is handed out when the sticker that is placed on the license plate is overdue. The license plate tags show the registration of the vehicle within the state. These tabs usually expire on the driver’s date of birth; however, all states are different. They are different colors so that the police officers can easily see if the tabs are current or expired.
How much does it cost?
- Depending on the state, most expired tag tickets are going to range anywhere from as little as $25 to as much as $275. For example, an expired car tag in Oklahoma is $25, while a fine for expired tags in Minnesota is $108.
- For example, lawofficeofscottmiller.com claims that an expired tag in Georgia can cost anywhere from as little as $30 to $135, depending on what happened.
- In Olive Branch, Missouri, the cost of a tag that is either expired or missing can cost $234.25.
- If the tag is missing from the license plate or has been damaged, a new one can be issued as long as the records show that it is not expired. In some areas, this replacement will be free. In others, you may have to pay a small fee of $5 to $10.
What is going to be included?
- Driving with expired tags is costly and inconvenient. Besides, it opens you to more bothersome concerns because the officer who pulls you over may find some other things that merit another citation, such as missing and burned-out lights, failure to wear a seatbelt, no insurance, and/or driver’s license violations.
What are the extra costs?
- The longer the tags have been expired, the higher the fines can be.
- The officer who pulls you over for an expired tag may discover other violations that may call for other citation.
- You may also have to pay more if you are found having multiple tickets for the same violation.
- While rare, if you plan on fighting the ticket or hiring a lawyer to do so, additional fees can be applied.
- In some states, points are issued on the driver’s license for each ticket given. When these points add up, your insurance rates can go up and, if enough points are earned, the license may even be taken away.
Factors that influence the price:
- Each state has its own policy and penalty schedule for an expired tag. In some jurisdictions, the fine is very high, while in other governments, authorities may arrest the errant driver and/or tow his vehicle.
- The amount of the fine may also vary depending on the number of days it has lapsed.
Tips to know:
- Your registration expires on the date determined by your last name and/or your birthday.
- Normally, a registered owner receives a renewal notice from the Secretary of State about 45 days before his or her vehicle’s registration expires. Most of these renewals can be done through the mail.
- If you do receive a ticket for expired tags, schedule a court hearing to explain your case. While you will probably still have to pay the ticket and renew the tags, appealing the ticket in court can often get you out of points on your license.
How can I save money?
- First of all, you should be taking notes of your obligations, such as the renewal of license plates, and other important matters to avoid the penalty.
- If in the event you cannot make it to the renewal date due to valid reasons, you should make sure to settle it the soonest you can.
- Have your tags renewed soon after getting a ticket for an expired one.
- Carry your ticket in your vehicle with you in case you are pulled over again. Usually, the officer will not issue another ticket for the same violation should he see that you already received one.
- Show up to court early on the day of your trial and bring with you the paperwork for your new tags. Most often, the District Attorney will dismiss the charges against you when he sees that you are already working on the renewal of your tags.
- If your tags have expired for over a year, you better buy new plates because it would be so much cheaper than to be renewing the expired one.