How Much Does a Suspended License Ticket Cost?


Written by:  Howmuchisit.org Staff
Last Updated:  August 9, 2018

A suspended license may be issued by your local Department of Motor Vehicles if you accumulate too many driving record points, have multiple traffic violations, have a DUI or fail to appear in court.

If you have a suspended license, you legally won’t be allowed to drive, but the courts can’t stop you if you do decide to get behind the wheel.

If, by chance, you’re pulled over with a suspended license, severe consequences can follow such as points on your record, traffic school and/or jail time.

How much does a driving with a suspended license ticket cost?

The cost of a suspended license is going to depend on the state where it was issued and your record.   On average, fines can range from as little as $100 to more than $5,000 if you had previous offenses.  We went ahead and researched the official state court websites to find the fines issued if you were pulled over and issued a suspended license ticket inside our table below:

StateAverage Fine
Alabama
$100 - $500
Alaska
$500 - $1,000
Arizona
$300 - $500
Arkansas
up to $500
California
$300 to $1,000
Colorado
$50 - $500
Connecticut
$150 to $600, depending on offense
Delaware
$500 to $4,000, depending on offense
Florida
$500 to $5,000, depending on offense
Georgia
up to $2,500
Hawaii
$250 to $2,000
Idaho
$500 to $3,000, depending on offense
Illinois
up to $2,500
Indiana
up to $500
Iowa
$250 to $1,000
Kansas
$100+
Kentucky
up to $250
Louisiana
$500
Maine
$250 to $600, depending on offense
Maryland
Up to $500
Massachusetts
$500 to $1,000
Michigan
$500 to $1,000
Minnesota
up to $1,000
Mississippi
$200 to $500
Missouri
up to $1,000
Montana
up to $500
Nebraska
up to $500
Nevada
$500 to $1,000
New Hampshire
up to $1,000
New Jersey
up to $1,000
New Mexico
up to $1,000
New York
$200 to $500
North Carolina$500 to $2,500
North Dakota
$250 to $1,000
Ohio
up to $1,000
Oklahoma
$100 to $500
Oregon
up to $2,000, depending on offense
Pennsylvania
$200 to $1,000
Rhode Island
$250 to $1,000, depending on offense
South Carolina
$300 to $1,000, depending on offense
South Dakota
up to $200
Tennessee
up to $500
Texas
up to $250
Utah
up to $750
Vermont
up to $5,000
Virginia
up to $1,000
Washington
up to $500
West Virginia
up to $500
Wisconsin
$600 to $2,000, depending on offense
Wyomingup to $750

The National Conference of State Legislatures created a list of all 50 states and fines and jail time you may experience if you were issued a citation.

Suspended license ticket overview

The penalties greatly vary state by state and can include fines, traffic school participation, jail time, points on your record and/or an increased suspended license sentence for repeat offenders.

Jail time, a real possibility, can last from as little as 48 hours to as long as 30 days, but if it’s the first offense, a judge often orders community service.

What are the extra costs?

While some tickets may not add points to your license, you can count on your insurance premiums increasing once it hits your record.

Traffic school, in some states, will be required, depending on the state laws and/or points on your record.

If your car was impounded after the ticket, which is often the case, towing and storage charges will apply, which is usually around $150 to $550, depending on the number of days your car was stored at the local impound yard.

A lawyer to help fight your ticket could reach well into the thousands, depending on the complexity of your court case.  At a minimum, plan on spending $200 to $300 per hour.

How can I save money?

While it may seem expensive at first, an attorney can help you pay a lower fine or even help you avoid jail time and/or points on your record.


Advertising Disclosure: This content may include referral links. Please read our disclosure policy for more info.

Null

Average Reported Cost: $0

0 %
0 %
Less Expensive $1 $1.5K $3K $5K $6.5K More Expensive $8k

How much did you spend?

Was it worth it?  

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Amazon Affiliate Disclosure
Copyright © 2018 | Proudly affiliated with the T2 Web Network, LLC
The information contained on this website is intended as an educational aid only and is not intended as medical and/or legal advice.